My Little Bronie

Posted: April 25, 2012 by baki3626 in Ferne's World

As you all read last week, Ethan has extended an invitation for me to be a blogging partner, and that’s groovy, considering most invitations I receive involve the words, “You’re now invited to leave.”  Since I’m sticking around, take a seat, get comfortable and turn on your inner Cartoon Network because we’re about to enter the world of “Equestria.”

About nine months ago, my 3 year old son asked the Hubs and me for “that purple toy…it flies fast and ZOOM!”  After about three days of mass confusion and begging, we remembered that the Hubs let Will watch “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic,” and we realized Will was asking for a Rainbow Dash Action Figure from said cartoon.

Now, I’m not that kind of mom that scowls at little boys playing with “little girl” toys, so I bought it for him, along with a few other ponies, so Rainbow Dash wouldn’t be lonely, but now he’s asking for the official Canterlot Castle to house them all in, and this obsession of his has prompted my husband to bring up the term “Bronie,” which you can go ahead and confuse with “Brony” because they mean the same thing.

1.BRONIE (bro-knee) (Bro+pony=Bronie)

Adult male viewers of the cartoon, “My Little Pony:  Friendship is Magic.”

In a nutshell, it’s a grown dude that likes “My Little Pony.”  I probably don’t need to say this, but three years old is far from grown; however, even if Will was a legit “Bronie,” I’d be cool with it.

There’s a ton to love about this little show, but from what I’ve read the adult male following of “My Little Pony” seems to have been made to go on the defensive about their continued enjoyment of a little girl’s cartoon.  Here’s what I have to say about that; “Haters gonna’ hate.”

To be quite honest, I’m picking up what the “Bronies” are throwing down.  I dig a little Pinkie Pie  here and there.  She throws good parties, makes up funny songs and is a little “cray,” just like me.  If I’m an adult woman, should I too be made to feel funny for enjoying this adorable little show?  I think not.  To go even further, I’m quite disappointed that the wittiest name that anyone has come up with thus far for adult women who like the show is “Filly.”  Come on now. We’re about to change that.

1.HONIE (hoe-knee) (Ho+pony=Honie)

Adult female viewers of the cartoon, “My Little Pony:  Friendship is Magic.”

Synonym(s) – Filly.

You cannot invite Ted to the “My Little Pony” marathon this weekend.  We’re having a fillies’ night out.  Honies before Bronies.  Duh.”

Now, before you go judging me for injecting the word “Ho” into a children’s television show, let’s make it even more fun for adults to watch.  What if we invent a drinking game where every time “Somepony” says the word “Pony,” you must “Pour out a lil’ liquor for your Honie,” and take a shot?  This show would undoubtedly become the most watched television show on the planet.  It could be the best drinking game ever, but you’ll never know unless you give it a try.  Maybe this is what the “Bronies” and college kids alike  have been doing all along, and we’ve all missed out on some seriously raging “My Little Pony” marathons.

In summation, I’ve had to explain to Hubs that while our son is not yet a qualified “Bronie,” we still really love watching the show with him, so let’s save our hate for something more substantial, like Larpers.

  1. LARPERLive Action Role Playing + “er”

-can be found in parks and public recreational areas wielding makeshift weaponry from nearby fallen trees. 

-Generally well versed in Dungeons and Dragons

Comments
  1. Ben Emery says:

    I’m down for any drinking game.

  2. Ben Emery says:

    I’m down with any new drinking game!

  3. geekgirlat40 says:

    Awesome post. In fact, I’m going to pour out a little drink for this here Honie right now!

  4. baki3626 says:

    You gotta honor your fallen bronies.

  5. zen sutherland says:

    i live in a world where none of the above makes any sense. But don’t feel sorry for me, i’m as happy about it as you are.

  6. baki3626 says:

    I like your world Zen. It sounds very…”pink-free.” 🙂

  7. […] My Little Bronie (manmademurphy.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Kim Krodel says:

    Don’t forget the pegasisters!

Your words SHOULD be here! :-)

