Right On, Target

Posted: July 11, 2012 by baki3626 in Ferne's World
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been trying to walk every day.  Health experts say you should strive-to-stride at least 10,000 steps daily.  I don’t know what that equates to in mileage, but who’s counting, right?  Just me and my trusty pedometer, that’s who.  

I generally like to take time during my walks to unplug from handheld technology and just ponder the world I know.  I also like to pretend I’m some sort of “Step Stalker” on my walks with Pedo (sometimes I call it that for short,) which always gets a snicker.  

I found myself reminiscing today during my stroll about the time I went to Target to purchase my pedometer.  Imagine my surprise when the pedometers and similar exercise aids were on lock-down.  Seriously.  I had to call in the Target squad to come unlock the display for me.  I hadn’t realized that pedometers, heart rate monitors, etc. were such “HOT” items.  I don’t recall ever walking in Times Square having people try to peddle pedometers at me.  Other than video games, smart phones and cameras, I dare say I’ve never seen any other Target merchandise “behind bars.”  

Now, let’s venture over to Target’s competitor, Walmart.  

Walmart’s pedometers are wide open, but you can’t buy a razor, or a shotgun or even baby formula without assistance, which makes sense because all of those items purchased in one transaction sounds like a really bad combination.  “Save Money. Live Better.”  Walmart protects its shoppers, and most importantly, their offspring!
I decided to do a little research, and by research, I mean I did a Google search.  I was surprised at my findings.  Did you know that razors and baby formula are two of the most shoplifted items in America?  According to this website, they are. http://www.businessinsurance.org/the-9-most-shoplifted-items-in-america/  

Pedometers are not on that list.  So…why are you corralling the pedometers, Target?  I think they’re worried they’ll get up, and get this….walk away!  Maybe Target is a magical land after it closes, where pedometers like to do walkabouts, travel to the sportswear sections, and become stowaways in pairs of pants like moths to a flame, thus making it incredibly difficult to sell them.  It could happen.  I think I’m on the right track here.  

As far as Target’s daytime magic goes, they do have the power to make me buy items that aren’t on my shopping list.  “ABRACADABRA!  SHAZZAAM!”  Magically broke!  Works every time.

I’m so happy I’ve answered the burning question, “Why are Target pedometers under house arrest?” Yet, I find myself perplexed that by the end of my walk, I have more questions than answers….

What happens in Walmart at night?

Should I be concerned with Heart Rate Monitors and their nightly activities

Until tomorrow….

Comments
  1. Funny girl. 🙂 I am so glad you’re walking!!!

  2. geekgirlat40 says:

    Gave me a chuckle!

  3. Thanks y’all! I try. 🙂

Your words SHOULD be here! :-)

