Let Them Eat Cake…and Cookies

Posted: August 8, 2012 by baki3626 in Ferne's World
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My son turned four last week, and like I expected him to, he requested a Super Mario Galaxy party.  If you recall from one of my previous blog posts “You’re a Mother of Sorts,” you’ll remember that Will thinks Super Mario Galaxy 2 on the Wii is the mecca of Mommy/Will playtime. 

I don’t know why I decided to get all Martha Stewart on the situation, but I chose to make Will’s cake and cookies from scratch rather than order from one of our esteemed and talented local bakeries.  I’ve never made a cake; although, I’ve eaten a ton of it.  When Marie Antoinette said, “Let them eat cake,” I was like, “That’s what I’m talkin’ ‘bout.”  Notice how Marie Antoinette didn’t say, “Let them bake cake.”  That’s because baking is hard, and she didn’t want any of her subjects to have to endure hard, physical labor.  Good looking out, Marie.

If you don’t believe baking is hard, See Exhibit A. 

 

I found the recipe for homemade lofthouse cookies here.  You know, the ones at the grocery store that are super soft and have a buttload of yummy frosting on them?  Well, this lady’s cookies have the fluffiest icing and just look scrumptious.  Mine don’t look like that, and mine took about four hours to prep and bake.  According to my husband, mine look like, “Hamburger patties with melted cheese and olives.”  Guess who didn’t get any cookies?  Kidding….

Baking is also messy.  See Exhibit B.

 

See how in that one picture it looks like my cake was baked in a waffle iron?  I did that on purpose…. Note to self:  When the cake recipe calls for a specific cake pan size, it’s probably a good idea to follow those directions, especially if you’re a novice because you’ll have to start over. 

LUCKILY, buttercream icing is like glue, so I was able to hide some of my less conspicuous imperfections.  Yay for cake glue!  Once I got past the hard parts (baking) I was able to get to the fun part of decorating.  See Exhibit C. 

 

I carved that joker myself because I’m too good for shaped cake pans (actually, they just didn’t have mushroom shaped cake pans at the craft store.)  At least I can cut a straight line.  After all that, here’s the final result.

 

I gave myself a little pat on the back for this first time attempt, and it was pretty darn delicious, if I may say so.  It did take roughly 8 hours total between this cake and the cookies, so I don’t think I’ll be quitting my day job, but I’m pretty stoked about the outcome.   

Now y’all don’t go losing your heads over how awesome this is; it seems a bit silly to lose your head over some cake.  And a big Happy 4th Birthday to my little guy. 

 

Comments
  1. geekgirlat40 says:

    Always enjoy your writing!

  2. Anonymous says:

    What a happy story, yes happy birthday to the little guy.

Your words SHOULD be here! :-)

